It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Global Studies Research by giving an overview of what Ethnic Studies Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them. For more detailed research on specific classes within this minor area, see the individual guides for Anthropology, Economics, Geography, and Political Science.
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Global Studies:
The most comprehensive video database covering more than 79,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.
Full text articles for more than 2,200 business journals, available from 1965 to present, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Regional Business News is a supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier, provided at no additional charge. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for 106 sources.
Nexis Uni® features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Curated collection of material showing differing points of view on current social issues. Articles from Opposing Viewpoints, Current Controversies, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, and Gale Information Plus.
Comprehensive database of sociology journals, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from nearly 420 "priority" coverage journals and over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Complete with extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources the database also includes searchable cited references are provided.
Journals and Periodicals
Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)
Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Global Studies (they can help you find items faster).
Because there are so many different call number ranges that would pertain to Global Studies, it is probably best to visit the guide for the specific class you are currently taking and doing research for. Some of the major call number ranges are listed below and linked to the guide: