Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

Geography (Minor): Research Help

Welcome to the Geography Research Guide!

The purpose of this guide is to support the Geography Minor in the Geosciences section of SUU's Department of Physical Science. Here you will find resources related as closely as possible to the subject of Geography aimed at supporting research in that field.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Geography:

Other Online Resources

Gale in Context: Environmental Studies

Gale World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean

Gale Ebooks:  Nation and World Collection - Includes titles like Countries and their Cultures, Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, Encyclopedia of World Cultures, etc.

Periodicals and Serials

Although many of the journals and annuals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, sometimes a print copy is the only way to go. Below is a list of periodicals and serials we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of periodicals are housed in the collapsible shelves on the first level, organized alphabetically by title, whereas serials are in the book shelves, organized by call number, like books).

Books and Ebooks

At Sherratt Library we use the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize the items on our shelves. These call "numbers"  (they're really letters)  on the spines are used for most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a list of call numbers that relate to Geography (browsing these sections in the shelves on the 2nd level or in Reference on the 1st level, can reveal resources you never even knew you needed)! Click on the links below for a further breakdown of each letter.

G - GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION

G Geography (General). Atlases. Maps
GA Mathematical geography. Cartography
GB Physical geography
GC Oceanography
GE Environmental Sciences
GF Human ecology. Anthropogeography

Librarian for Geography

Matt Nickerson's picture
Matt Nickerson
Contact:
435-586-1955 (office)