Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Ceramics/Sculpture:
Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications on fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, and architecture. 660 periodicals dating back to 1972, including nearly 360 peer-reviewed journals, and citations to over 14,000 art dissertations.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than 1M images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today
Other Online Resources
- Centre Pompidou, Paris
- Galleria dell'Accademia, Florence
- Getty Center and Villa, Los Angeles
- Louvre Museum, Paris
- Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
- Musée Rodin, Paris
- Musei del Bargello, Florence
- Museo dela Ceramica di Deruta, Deruta, IT
- Museo Nacional de Cerámica y Artes Suntuarias "González Martí", Valencia, ES
- Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York
- National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.
- National Gallery, London
- Prado Museum, Madrid
- Princessehof National Museum of Ceramics, Leeuwarden, NL
- Rijksmuseum-Applied Arts-Ceramics and Rijksmuseum-Sculpture, Amsterdam
- Rodin Museum, Philadelphia
- Uffizi Gallery, Florence
- Vatican Museums and Virtual Exhibits
Periodicals and Serials
Although many of the journals and annuals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, sometimes a print copy is the only way to go. Below is a list of periodicals and serials we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of periodicals are housed in the collapsible shelves on the first level, organized alphabetically by title, where serials are in the book shelves, organized by call number, like books).
Books and eBooks
At Sherratt Library we use the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize the items on our shelves. These call "numbers" (they're really letters) on the spines are used for most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a list of call numbers that relate to Art (browsing these sections in the shelves on the 2nd level, or 3rd level for oversized items, can reveal resources you never knew you needed)!
Click any of the links below to see a PDF of more complete breakdowns for each number at the Library of Congress.
NK Decorative arts (Ceramics falls near the end of this section)
NX Arts in general
TP Chemical technology (Clay industries, ceramics, and glass fall under this section)
TS Manufactures (Stonework falls under this section)
Librarian for Studio Arts