It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Arts Administration research guide!
This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Arts administration research by giving an overview of what Arts administration resources are available in the Library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them. This guide was created in support of the SUU Arts Administration graduate programs and minor.
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Arts Administration:
Full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications on fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, and architecture. 660 periodicals dating back to 1972, including nearly 360 peer-reviewed journals, and citations to over 14,000 art dissertations.
Comprehensive information on private foundation funding, corporate giving programs, and grant-making public charities. (Restricted: accessible from Sherratt Library computers only)
Information about the largest 10,000 public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites. Full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news and job postings.
Off campus users may search the Foundation Center's GrandSpace Website to access their free resources.
More than 1.1 million records, with coverage dating back to 1931, with full text for over 525 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Periodicals include Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Education, Hosteur, Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research, Current Issues in Tourism, International Journal of Tourism Research, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Leisure Sciences, Nation's Restaurant News, Restaurant Business and many more.
Full-text academic journals for many disciplines including Arts administration, archiving titles like the International Journal of Arts Management. Runs are typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
Below is a sample list of periodicals and serials that support the study of Arts Administration.
Cultural Management: Science & Education
Culturas: Revista de Gestion Cultural
International Journal of ArtsManagement
Journal of Arts Management, Law & Society
Journal of Management Education
Journal of Nonprofit Education & Leadership
Public Performance & Management Review
Books and eBooks
At Sherratt Library we use the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize the items on our shelves. These call "numbers" (they're really a combination of letters and numbers) on the spines are used for most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a list of call numbers that relate to Arts Administration (browsing these sections in the shelves on the 2nd level, or 3rd level for oversized items, can reveal resources you never knew you needed)!
NX1-820 Arts in general
NX440-632 History of the arts
NX650-694 Special subject
NX700-750 Patronage of the arts
NX760-770 Administration of the arts
NX775-777 Voluntarism in the arts
NX798-820 Arts centers and facilities