Research Guides: Library Media (Minor): Research Help

Welcome to the Library Media Research Guide!

This guide is to help support your Library Media research by giving an overview of what Library Media resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

The Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Library Media:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Children's Core Collection (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A collection-development, readers’ advisory, and curriculum support resource for educators and librarians working with elementary students. Containing more than 45,000 titles, this resource covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, and picture books recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian is also covered.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from nearly 530 journals, with full-text coverage dating back to 1996.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books, tens of thousands of biographies, and thousands of primary source documents. MAS Complete also provides an image collection containing more than 1.2 million photos, maps, flags, and color PDFs.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Containing full-text for more than 80 of the most popular elementary school magazines, Primary Search is designed specifically for elementary school libraries.
Featuring content from Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Primary Search provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. All full-text articles are assigned reading level indicators (Lexiles) that provide educators with an estimate of the result’s reading difficulty and the approximate grade-level reading ability required for comprehension. Lexiles help teachers meet the needs of students with varying reading abilities and interests and allow students to read along at their own pace.

In addition, this database provides access to a collection of more than one million images of relevant photos, maps, and flags to aid kids in learning.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection includes full text for nearly 500 high-quality education journals
Wilson Core Collection Databases (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Use these three Wilson collection development databases to search librarian-selected titles for readers from preschool through high school. Search all three core collections at once: Children's Core Collection, Middle and Junior High Core Collection, and Senior High Core Collection.
This selective list of books recommended for young people in grades K through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support for all school libraries.

Other Online Resources

American Association of School Librarians (AASL) - the premier national professional organization for school librarians.
Utah State Board of Education - elected officials that provides oversight for public education in Utah, including standards and licensing.
Utah Education Library Media Association (UELMA) - the state professional organization for school librarians in Utah.
Utah Education Network (UEN) - connects Utah educational institutions with quality education resources.
Keith Curry Lance - principal investigator of the most prolific research team studying the impact of school libraries and librarians on academic achievement and student learning.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in the Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of the Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

School Libraries Worldwide
Knowledge Quest
Teacher Librarian
Journal of Library Administration (print)
School Library Research

Books and Ebooks

Here at the Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Library Media (they can help you find items on the shelf).

LB5-3640 - Theory and Practice of Education
Z665-718.8 - Library Science

Maralee Carlin

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

LIB 303D

(435) 865-5734

Get Help!

Chat with a Librarian

Do you have questions? We're here to help!

OR, text your question to
435-215-4SUU (4788)