Beginning Monday, June 15 at 8am, the Sherratt Library building will be opened with limited access (first floor).
Starting June 15th, the first floor will be open with limited access from 8am-5pm. PLEASE WEAR A MASK AND USE SAFE SOCIAL DISTANCING. Library services are available--ask at the checkout desk or call (435)-865-8240.
During this unprecedented time in the history of Southern Utah University, Special Collections at the Gerald R. Sherratt Library would like to document your Coronavirus/Covid19 experiences. This Pandemic has affected all of us in many different ways and we are all eyewitnesses to the events that have been unfolding the last few weeks. Recording our daily experiences, thoughts, feelings, and responses to this crisis will provide future historians, researchers, and students with information and data on life in our community during this trying time. Please take some time each day to record your thoughts, experiences, creations, and submit them to our archive. We welcome your photos as well. Our goal is to capture your personal experiences to add to the historical record kept by Southern Utah University since our founding in 1897. To submit your personal record, follow this link to a form: https://forms.gle/
Proquest is offering this Coronavirus Research Database free to all current customers.
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
Access the database at the following link: https://library.suu.edu/ProQuestCRD
The Library will continue to support faculty, staff, and students with a wide range of services, as follows:
No study rooms or computers are currently available for use in the Library. Please check the computer lab usage dashboard (https://labuse.suu.edu/) and select one of the many computer labs still open all across campus.
Most of the labs on the 3rd floor of the ELC are open, and they all have a printer right in the room so you can print without needing to walk across campus. ELC 312 as it is an open lab and there is a help desk staff member available throughout the day if you need assistance. That lab has both black & white and color laser printers available for your use. ELC 313 is also currently being staffed by a help desk employee and has printing available. Other labs open in the ELC include ELC 310 and 311.
Chromebooks are available for check-out from the Circulation Desk. Please follow the instructions (below) to check out a Chromebook.
Check Out Desk (Circulation Desk) will no longer provide inside walk-up service but will allow patrons to check out materials (Chromebooks, cameras, iPads, print materials like books, media like DVDs, etc.). To search for print materials, go to the Library’s website (https://library.suu.edu) and use our Books & eBooks Catalog (under Using the Library).
In order to check out physical items, patrons are asked to submit a request by email (circulation@suu.edu) and include the following information:
Library staff will review these requests, retrieve the items, and have them ready for “front door pick-up” at the Library’s main entrance. Patrons will be provided with an estimated pick-up time for the requested item.
When you arrive at the Library to pick up your item, please call the Circulation Desk at 435-865-8240 and your item will be brought to the entry door for you.
Hours of operation for Circulation Desk front door pick-up are:
We will waive all late fees. Renewals are allowed and encouraged. Books can be dropped off in our book returns (there is one located on the exterior of the library entrance and another by visitor parking in the lot behind the library).
Staff will be available to scan pages of T-bird texts and email them to users. They need only to ask. Please make a request via email at circulation@suu.edu, or phone 435-865-8240 between 9am and 5pm.
The Library website (https://library.suu.edu) will continue to provide access to our ebooks (Using the Library / Books & eBooks Catalog / check the “Search only Electronic Books” box), and journal articles in our various databases (Using the Library / Articles & Journals). Some of the Library databases such as Kanopy (https://suu.kanopy.com/), JSTOR, and OVID have temporarily expanded their content.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) will continue to receive and process ILL requests and offer delivery of electronic materials (via email). We anticipate some delays and restrictions when it comes to fulfilling ILL requests. For example, availability of print items will be extremely limited and will follow the “front door pick-up” described above. ILL staff can be reached at: ill@suu.edu.
There are three ways to get help with your library research. You can use the Virtual Questions Desk, schedule a research consultation with an individual librarian, or use the Library’s Research Guides. All are listed separately below.
The Virtual Questions Desk (Reference Desk) will offer two types of virtual support: